THE HONORABLE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, MADISON, GEORGIA, MET THIS DAY IN A CALLED MEETING.

MEETING WAS HELD ON THE SECOND FLOOR OF THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING.

- **PRESENT:** Chairman Philipp von Hanstein, Vice-Chair Ben Riden, Jr., Commissioners Ronald H. Milton, Donald Harris and Andy A. Ainslie, Jr.
- **STAFF:** County Manager Adam Mestres, Procurement Director Mark Williams, and County Clerk Leslie Brandt.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance and Invocation.

AGENDA APPROVAL

<u>Motion</u> by Commissioner Ainslie, Seconded by Commissioner Riden to approve agenda as presented. Unanimously Approved.

NON-TRUCK ROUTE SPECIAL USE PERMIT REQUEST

County Manager, Adam Mestres, presented a non-truck route special use permit request from Pittman Construction. Pittman approached the county to request permission to use Seven Islands Road as a truck route during the 441-widening project (if they are awarded the bid). The project duration is expected to last 40-48 months. Currently, the county ordinance prohibits trucks from using county roadways as truck routes as they are not designed to sustain the heavy loads and traffic.

If the request is permitted and if they are awarded the bid, Pittman has agreed to supply 1,000 tons of deep hole patching (before, during and after the project), and to share 50% of the cost to resurface the full 6.7-mile length of the roadway at the end of the project.

Chairman von Hanstein allowed public comments

Public comments were made by: Ryan Holliday, 2201 Seven Islands Road Sara Nash, 3620 Seven Islands Road Tommy Cathey, 4731 Bethany Road Jim Brooks, 1110 Cedar Grove Road John McMahon, 1410 Apalachee Woods Trail Charles Bruce, 4701 Seven Islands Road Cameron Michael, 1230 Cedar Grove Road Residents expressed concern over increased traffic, road sustainability and safety issues. Residents pleaded with the Board to deny the non-truck route special use request on Seven Islands Road.

MOTION by Comm. Milton, seconded by Comm. Ainslie to deny the non-truck route special use truck permit request. Unanimously Denied.

MOTION by Commissioner Ainslie, seconded by Commissioner Riden to exit regular session and adjourn at 6:26 p.m. Unanimously Approved.

Philipp von Hanstein, Chairman

ATTEST:

Leslie Brandt, County Clerk